Homemade Chamomile Tea

This is a very different post from previous post, but I couldn’t not do it after I’ve spent literally the whole of lockdown tending to my very rudimentary herb garden. I’ve been growing my own chamomile for the last few months, and I’ve been really wanting to try and make my own homemade chamomile tea.

I suffer quite a lot from anxiety. Anxiety over lots of things, but I’ve found in the past that herbal teas have really helped me to calm down and chill. I love to drink a cup before bed, and it’s even better when paired with a lavender pillow spray.

I find reading my ultimate de-stress and anxiety-reducing activity. But I find if I incorporate a herbal tea into my reading sessions, it’s like snuggling into my favourite jumper whilst eating all the chocolate and being cuddled by all of the puppies.

Yeah, that good.

So, with that in mind (and the hundreds of puppies) I thought I’d share my first experience of making homemade chamomile tea on my blog in case you wanted to try it out, too.

Look at us, being little herbal scientists together!

Why Chamomile Tea?

I was first attracted to the idea of chamomile tea a few weeks into lockdown. With the whole Covid disaster underway and with being on furlough, I was finding my sleeping pattern become less and less sleep-filled, and more anxiety-fuelled. I would find I wouldn’t get to sleep until 2/3am regardless of what time I went to bed, meaning I wouldn’t wake-up until passed 11am most days.

I know, I’m on furlough so this doesn’t technically matter, but over the years I’ve really noticed a link between my mental health and routine, so if I don’t wake-up early and I don’t follow the same routine, I’m usually not a very happy-chappy after a few days.

I was googling constantly about how to get more sleep, how to chill-out more before bed, and everything was either “turn your phone off an hour before bed” or “get into a routine” – both things I was struggling with anyways. That’s when I read about chamomile tea.

I’d already been growing it in my garden for the purpose of herbal tea, but I had no idea that it was meant to help with sleep. I bought some from my local garden centre way back in the beginning of March, imaging all the hot, steamy teas I’d make with it once it was fully grown.

Chamomile is naturally caffeine-free, which is great if you want a hot bedtime beverage, but it’s also got apigenin in (yep, that was very hard to spell) which is an antioxidant that binds to certain receptors in your brain that makes you sleepy and means insomnia is less likely. Overall sleep quality is also meant to improve, with fewer symptoms of depression, too. You can read more about these great benefits of chamomile here.

All I knew was this sounded way too good to be true from this humble plant I’m growing in my garden. I just had to try it.

Why is Chamomile Tea so Great?

So, after reading-up on Chamomile a little bit more, it appears helping with sleep isn’t its only benefit.

Chamomile is also said to help with digestive health as it has anti-inflammatory effects. Amazing or what?!

What’s even better is that its also help in reducing blood sugar levels. Because of its anti-inflammatory properties, it can help protect your pancreas, which is where damage happens when you eat too much sugar. This is especially helpful when you drink the tea with a meal apparently, as it stops your blood sugar levels from spiking. So, so great if you’ve got diabetes then.

One of the other great things about Chamomile is that it’s supposedly meant to also help with anxiety and depression. Um, HELLO, where have you been all my life?! With its soothing scent and sleep-inducing tendencies, Chamomile is the perfect hug-in-a-mug you didn’t realise you needed until now.  

Chamomile Leaves or Flowers?

So, in my travels on the internet, whilst looking at all the different recipes and pages, it appears that Chamomile tea is made from the flowers of the plant.

The FLOWERS.

As you can see, for some reason my lil’ chamomile plant doesn’t have any flowers. Don’t judge, he’s shy. I was feeling a bit deflated and defeated in my tea-making journey at this point though, as if I don’t have any flowers then I can’t make any tea, surely?

WRONG.

Apparently, you can also make chamomile tea from the leaves of the plant. YAY. It’s just got a different taste. If you make the tea from the flowers, then its sweeter and apparently tastes like apples. If you make it from the leaves it’s more herbal and grassier in nature.

I wish I had flowers to try but the leaves will have to do.

Homemade Chamomile Tea Ingredients

So, this is the chamomile tea recipe that I followed. It’s an adaption from the BBC Goodfoods one which you can find here.

For your homemade tea, you’ll need:

  • 2tsp Chamomile leaves / flowers
  • 1 teapot of Hot water (not boiling)
  • 2tsp Honey
  • 1 teapot
  • A cup

Homemade Chamomile Tea Recipe

So, this is a really simple recipe. All you need to do is:

  1. Put the 2tsp of chamomile into a teapot with hot water and let it brew for 3-5 minutes, depending on what strength you like
  2. Strain the liquid and pour into a cup. Add honey or whatever sweetener you have of choice.

My Thoughts on My Homemade Chamomile Tea

So, I definitely let it steep for too long. I just left it whilst I was doing other things, thinking as it’s not a tea bag it’ll probably need longer. IT DOESN’T. Please follow the timings above! My tea here ended up being super bitter, so I’m glad I put some honey in it.

Overall, though, I really enjoyed this. It definitely had a sleepy effect on my which was great (placebo or not who cares) and I think if next time I don’t over-steep it, then it’ll be even better.

Let me know, did you like the homemade chamomile tea?

Until tomorrow.


Leave a comment