Why I’m excited for Download 2018

I think this should be more about wouldn’t I be excited for Download “18?!

Bit of a silly title, really.

BUT I’M TOO EXCITED TO CARE!

Download 2018

Today is Wednesday, sooo omg.

OMG.

TWO MORE DAYS.

I just can’t. Too much excitement.

I feel faint.

In two days…

I get to see the best bands ever

Why else would I go to a music festival if I didn’t get to see the most awesomest of bands?! I’m especially excited to see:

  • Marilyn Manson – THE HERO OF MY CHILDHOOD/ADOLESCENCE AND NOW I FINALLY GET TO SEE HIM IN THE FLESH OH MYYYYY
  • Avenge Sevenfold – Babes.
  • Cellar Darling – These guys made me fall back in LOVE with music. I’m not kidding, before listening to them, I hardly picked-up my ipod, but NOW, I am in awe. Listening to them whilst reading Burial Rites was just such a dream I can’t even TELL you.

I can’t wait to discover new bands. It was through the Download App that I found Cellar Darling which was what, 3 weeks ago? And they’ve already made my LIFE!

Over-exaggeration I think not.

I cannot wait to see what new bands we stumble across over the weekend, with a hotdog in one hand and a delightful beverage in the other, of course.

I’ll have no internet

Is it weird I’m excited for this?

I’m looking forward to re-connecting with mental silence. Not having that glass screen fill the void of empty thoughts.

THINK OF ALL TIME.

So much room for activities.

I’m a bit nervous too, because what if there is nothing to fill the void? WHAT IF WE GET BORED?!

Heaven forbid.

It’s definitely made me think about our down-time at Download,too, not just the arena time. I’m for sure going to pack a meaty-book, some cards, connect 4 and maybe a little ball.

Fetch is a game you can play without a dog, isn’t it?

Also, I’m sure there’s going to be so much to do besides listening to music, I just can’t remeber from when I last went. IT’S BEEN 5 YEARS.

Good-bye social media.

It’s just going to be me, Brad, and about a zillion strangers.

What could go wrong?

I get to eat all the food

I could NOT have this list of what I’m most excited about without having food on it. Just think about all the amazing stalls they’re going to have, with all the burgers and chips (OMG CHIPS) and all the sweet treats and just everythingggg. I’m going to really try and be adventerous here, and I might just have to throw healthy-eating out the window for a while.

What.

A.

Shame.

I can buy everything

Of course, any festival is a good excuse to go shopping. I’ve bought myself some really daring sunglasses, some shorts which I would NEVER have bought otherwise, and it also meant I could go to Boots on a shopping spree GUILT FREE.

Queue all the dry shampoo and baby wipes.

Things are getting wild over here.

I can wear all the outfits I’ve planned

This is something that I never thought would excite me, BUT BY JOVE IT HAS. I got a real-kick out of organising my outfits the other day, with lacy smocks and short summer dresses. Daring vest-tops and very short shorts, I cannot wait to wear all the outfits that I would normally feel are too far out of my confort zone.

I think that’s the beauty of any festival, you can really experiment and be the brave and adventurous you you wish you could be in your every day life.

And right now, that sounds absolutely marvellous.

I can see it now, flower chain in my hair, dancing to the music, Marilyn Manson in the background.

A pure delight.

Let me know if you’re going to any festivals/ Download this year!

Time to cook some chips me thinks.


Leave a comment